Rally Site Selection

The BMW MOA Rally Site Search Team has the responsibility of identifying and reviewing potential future BMW MOA Rally sites.

Who besides the Team can suggest a possible site? Anyone! The 2007 Rally site was suggested by an Ambassador. A fellow club member suggested the Bloomsburg, Penn., site. Sometimes BMW MOA is contacted directly by the area Convention and Visitors Bureau or Chamber of Commerce.

Once a site is identified the review process determines if the site meets our basic requirements of:

  • Site size 100 acres or larger.
  • Adequate grass camping area of about 50 acres.
  • Indoor air conditioned vendor area consisting of 50,000 square feet or more.
  • Wireless Internet service for vendors and Cyber Cafe.
  • Adequate toilets and showers.
  • 2,500 motel/hotel rooms within a 30-mile radius of the rally grounds.
  • Exclusive BMW MOA Beer Garden.
  • RV Parking - 100 spaces minimum.
  • Paved area of at least 200 feet by 300 feet (on or off rally grounds) for Rider Performance University Rider Courses.
  • Grandstand or arena seating for at least 3,500 for the Closing Ceremonies.
  • Off-Road area (on or off rally grounds) for GS training.
  • Six or more air conditioned areas of various size for holding seminars.
  • Unpaved area on or off site for GS Giant event and off-pavement rider training.

When it's determined a site meets our basic requirements a site visit is scheduled with two or more members of the Team. Then the site is reviewed by the entire Team. If the site is approved, a recommendation is sent to the BMW MOA Events Committee for Board approval.

Beginning in 2019, we started a new three-zone rotation schedule. The next few rallies will be in these zones:

  • 2021: Central
  • 2022: East
  • 2023: West
  • 2024: Central

For further information on the Rally Site Selection process or if you have a site suggestion please contact Ted Moyer.


1973 Morgan Hill CA
1974 Tablerock, SC
1975 Branson, MO
1976 Oshkosh, WI
1977 Colorado Springs, CO
1978 Rutland, VT
1979 Brainard, MN
1980 Prineville, OR
1981 Hurricane Mills, TN
1982 Shreve, OH
1983 Lake Placid, NY
1984 Missoula, MT
1985 Lake Wales, FL
1986 Laguna Seca, CA
1987 Escanaba, MI
1988 Madison, IN
1989 York, PA
1990 Rapid City, SD
1991 Flagstaff, AZ
1992 DuQuoin, IL
1993 Oshkosh, WI
1994 Moodus, CT
1995 Durango, CO
1996 Morganton, NC
1997 Fredricksburg, TX
1998 Missoula, MT
1999 Rhinebeck, NY
2000 Midland, MI
2001 Redmond, OR
2002 Trenton, ON
2003 Charleston, WV
2004 Spokane, WA
2005 Lima, OH
2006 Essex Junction, VT
2007 West Bend, WI
2008 Gillette, WY
2009 Johnson City, TN
2010 Redmond, OR
2011 Bloomsburg, PA
2012 Sedalia, MO
2013 Salem, OR
2014 St. Paul, MN
2015 Billings, MT
2016 Hamburg, NY
2017 Salt Lake City, UT
2018 Des Moines, IA
2019 Lebanon, TN
2020 Great Falls, MT